Three key things you need to know about bond fees:
What is the fee for a bail bond?
The fee for a bond up to $5,000.00 is 10% and 7% for every dollar over $5,000.00. The Connecticut Department of Insurance mandates the fees and are non-negotiable. Payment plans are available if you cannot afford to pay the entire premium up front.
Are payment plans an option?
Payment plans are available. Call us at (203) 777-2245 (BAIL) to discuss payment plan options.
Is the fee (premium) refundable?
The fee for posting a bail bond is nonrefundable and must be paid in full upon the release of the defendant regardless of the disposition or length of the court case.
Other important facts about bond fees and laws:
- Bail bond fees are mandated by the Connecticut Department of Insurance. Bail Bond Companies claiming to give discounts or reduced fees are not in compliance with 38a-660a of Connecticut General Statutes. This is illegal and subject to prosecution.
- Never give any money to a bail bondsman without a written contract and numbered receipt of payment.
- Ask for Surety Bail Bond license number for verification.
- Be cautious to bondsmen making promises.
- Ask questions. KNOWLEDGE IS POWER.
- If you don’t “have a good feeling” when making arrangements for bail, or something “doesn’t feel right,” DON’T pay or sign any paperwork.
- Do not let any bondsman bully, coerce, or scare you into posting a bond.
If you experience any of the above improper/unethical business practices, you may file a report with the State of Connecticut, Department if Insurance.